Trainings & Travels!

The past few weeks have been a whirlwind of trainings and travels! I don’t even know where to begin!

Mid-January, I got to meet the 26 other Big Sky Watershed Corps members who are placed across the state doing watershed conservation work. Needless to say, they are sooo cool! I am constantly amazed by peoples’ experiences and life paths that have brought them here! So far, we have had two trainings in Bozeman where have all gotten to hang out and learn lots about the state and the water resources here.

training

2017 Big Sky Watershed Corps Members & Site Supervisors

Outside of that, work has been researching a lot. I’ve done so much research on the watershed, the state that it is in, and how to better it for the future. It’s been a whirlwind of information, but I love learning about it! Agriculture here is a lot different than in the Midwest, and it is fascinating to compare it all! I will say it has been a HUGE adjustment working in the office. I haven’t had a full time office job before this, and it is a lot! It does make me miss my trail days a little bit!

Between the trainings for the Corps, and other work trainings, I have been traveling a little bit everywhere! I’ve gotten to check out some surrounding towns and catch up with a few of my Bear Brook pals, which is always a blast!

img_2933

I also got to do some local exploring which was great! I’ve been testing out my new camera on this beautiful landscape!

Last weekend, I got to go to Jackson Hole, Wyoming to have another bear brook reunion! We were sad we missed Rachel, but excited we were able to see Katie and meet her friends! It was soo beautiful down there as well. The drive and the Tetons were breathtaking! I wish we had more time together to spend exploring or skiing! Another trip in the works in the future for sure!

I’m starting to adjust to this environment. I feel like I’m learning new things every day. There are good days and there are bad days, but I guess that is life. It is hard to find your place in a new community, but I’m working on reaching out and meeting more locals! Until next time!

Leave a Reply

